Buntjer wins Interlaken’s 100th club golf championship | News, Sports, Jobs

Mike Buntjer
FAIRMONT — With nine holes remaining, Mike Buntjer came back from a two-shot deficit to win the 100th annual Interlaken Club Championship.
After 36 holes, Buntjer was two shots behind leader Ryan Stevens. Buntjer then shot a 1-under par 34 on the final nine holes to earn the club crown.
It was Buntjer’s fourth championship after winning in 1984, 1995 and 2014. Buntjer broke the record for largest gap between first and most recent win, setting the mark at 37 years.
Buntjer is now sixth all-time in most Interlaken championships. Michael Fisch leads the pack with nine, while Bob Manske has eight, Van DeWar and Ben Feinberg each notched seven and Harlan Lidke totaled five. Buntjer’s four is tied with Greg Kuderer and Myles Pfingsten.
Nine other golfers won their flights at the tournament.
Butch Hybbert won the first flight and the senior first flight, while Ryan Noll took the second flight and Tim Jones claimed the third.
Eric Hugoson earned the top spot in the fourth flight, Chuck Poppe won the fifth and Michael Coady won the sixth. Hunter Schmidt won the junior flight, while Gene Guinn won the senior second flight.

Today’s breaking news and more in your inbox

Source link