NM State Men’s Golf Concludes Day Two of Gene Miranda Invite

Story Links

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — NM State men’s golf concluded day two of action at the Gene Miranda Invite hosted by the Air Force Academy at the Eisenhour Blue Course Saturday.
The Aggies who struggled on the back-nine in day one, started play Saturday on the back-nine and found much better success. As a team the Aggies shot two-under par on the day.Former WAC Freshman of the Year Aidan Thomas fired a three-under 69 on Saturday to move to -1 for the tournament. Thomas sits in a tie for 16th entering the final round.Other Aggie highlights included Garrison Smith firing an even-par 72 to move into the top-40 (t-38) and Alvaro Morales firing a one-under round of 71 to move into the top-50.
UC Davis continues to lead the action at -25, followed by San Jose State (-10), Denver (-8), Nevada (-6) and Wyoming (-5). Colorado (+2), UTEP (+6), Weber State (+6) Northern Colorado (+7) and UNLV (+9) round out the top-10.
NM State (+11) moved up two slots Saturday and sits in 11th place overall, followed by Utah Valley (+12), CSU-Northridge (+15), George Washington (+20), Northern Iowa (+21) and Southern Illinois (+21).
SIU Edwardsville (+22), Utah State (+23), Army (+30), Air Force (+47) and Southern Utah (+50) round out the field.
Thomas Hutchins fired a course-best 62 Saturday to move to -14 overall for the tournament. He leads Blake Brothers (CSU-Northridge) and Greg Yellin of UTEP by five strokes.
Name                          Saturday          Overall
Aidan Thomas                         (-3)                  (-1)
Garrison Smith            (E)                    (+3)
Scott Resicgno            (+3)                  (+5)
Alvaro Morales           (-1)                  (+4)
Cooper Sears               (+2)                  (+8)
The Aggies hit the course early Sunday morning for the final round of the Gene Miranda Invitational. Sears will get things going for NM State, teeing off at 7:30 a.m. The other four Aggies tee off at 7:40 (Resicgno), 7:50 (Morales), 8:00 (Smith) and 8:10 (Thomas) respectively.

Source link